Friday, September 29, 2006

Another government journalist defected

EMF , September 29 , 2006 (Friday)

Host of FM radio 97.1 , Mr Dagmawi Tariku , has defected
to Cananda , according to EMF web site report . EMF states that because of total absence of freedom of the press and intolerable situation unfolding in Ethiopia journalist Dagmawi Tariku has decided to escape his country .

The defection of this journalist has increased the total number of journalists who were working for the government and now living in exile from ten to eleven with in the last six months .

List of exiled government journalists

1-Fiseha Tegegn , FM 97.1 radio
2-Getaneh Tsige , Ethiopian press agency
3-Aregash Mekonnen , Ethiopian press agency
4-Yohannes Ayalew , Ethiopian television
5-Hailu Tsige , Ethiopian press agency
6-Andargachew Tamir , Radio fana
7-Fasika Girmay , Ethiopian television
8-Yared Belayneh , Ethiopian radio
9-Dereje Tedla Demissie , Ethiopian press agency
10-Dagmawi Tariku , FM 97.1 radio
11- Mohamed Ahmed , Ethiopian television
12-Tesfahun Demissie Dargie , Addis Lessan
13-Abebe Feleke , FM 97.1 radio
14-Martha Belay , EthiopianTV2
15-Tesfaye Gessesse , Ethiopian press agency

More News
Freedom of the press in Ethiopia debated in London

No comments: