Tuesday, October 17, 2006

Nation without a journalists - 40 fired , 20 defected

October 17,2006 (Tuesday)
Non-stop campaign to eradicate Ethiopian journalists,independent and government,from their job and the country has been continue. Now it seems the TPLF government officials have decide to run the country without a journalist.
With in the last two months 40 journalists who worked for the state controlled media and the ruling dictator party news networks had fired from their job, and 20 others had defected the country in the last 6 months.
Based on Ethiopian Freepress Journalists Association(EFJA),update report which was released on June 10,2006, on the Ethio-Dutch Journalists conference,Amsterdam,The Netherlands,about 100 journalists from independent media are in exile,including EFJA president Mr.Kifle Mulat.
List of 37 Fired Government Journalists
1-Eshetu Geletu , Ethiopian radio
2-Eyader Addis,Ethiopian radio
3-Daniel Amare,Ethiopian radio
4-Tigst Asfaw,FM97.1 radio
5-Selome Desta,FM97.1 radio
6-Nigussei Kibru,Ethiopian news agency(ENA)
7-Worku Chala,ENA
8-Teshager Shiferaw,ENA
9-Sileshi Tessema,ENA
10-Eliyas Amare,Ethiopian tv(ETV)
11-Ashenafi Berihun,ETV
12-Abnet Bekele,ETV
13-Zelalem Gudeta,ETV
14-Fikadu Damte,ETV
15-Bereket Teklu,ETV
16-Habtamu Bogale,ETV
17-Samuel Fikre,ETV
18-Endale Zewde,ETV
19-Genet Abebe,ETV freelancer
20-Hailegebriel Endashaw,Ethiopian Press Agency(EPA)
21-Berhanu Assefa,EPA
22-Tsige Gebreamlak,EPA
23-Abebech Wolde,EPA
25-Daniel Mekonnen,EPA
26-Zenebe Wella,EPA
27-Gashaw Melese,EPA
28-Kersima Musien,EPA
29-Matha Hailu,EPA
30 -Melaku Adela,EPA
31-Hassen Ousman,EPA
33-Getachew Shiferaw,EPA
34-Solomon Getachew,EPA
35-Yalew Aklilu,EPA
36-Tewodros Atlaw,EPA
37-Eskinder Merhatsaedik,Abyotawi Democrasi Newspaper

No comments: